“With a little ingenuity and vision, he had made it all but impossible for anyone in the squadron to talk to him, which was just fine with everyone, he noticed, since no one wanted to talk to him anyway.”

So…The radio is again back in my life. And some of the stations actually play nice songs, especially after midnight. The bad thing about the radio is the complete lack of control; you listen to whatever is playing. Only thing you can do is change stations, which again, doesn’t offer a whole array of choices. The good thing about the radio, well, this lack of control!

“I have learnt silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind yet strange, I am ungrateful to these teachers.”

I have been re-reading The Black Book over and over. There is a magical quality about the book. I don’t know what, and I also don’t know why I am reading it so many times. The important thing is that I am enjoying it. (Camus is also there, but it’s the same old Camus, it doesn’t change color with each reading.)

“If Kerenin had been a person instead of a dog, he would surely have long since said to Tereza, ‘Look, I’m sick and tired of carrying that roll in my mouth every day. Can’t you come up with something different?’ And therein lies the whole of man’s plight. Human time does not turn in a circle; it runs ahead in a straight line. That is why man cannot be happy: happiness is the longing for repetition.”

I have been hunting for the “English August”, the movie, for quite some time.

Me: Do you have English August? I don’t see it on the shelves…

Plant M/ Crosswords/ Landmark Guy: No we don’t.

Me: Can you get it from me?

Ditto: No we cant.

Me: Do you know any other place I can get it from?

Ditto: No.

“I’ve a feeling, August, you’re going to get hazaar fucked in Madna”

There is a reality of books and paintings and music and movies, which is different from the reality we live in. I suppose any work that can create a reality for itself is worth the time. And that gives you a chance, to step out of your life jacket and be in some other world. You might ask why? Well, you figure that out yourself.

“Si se sabe exactamente lo que se va a hacer, ¿para qué hacerlo?”

I am seriously thinking about a trek in Himalayas in summer. You can’t choose a trek browsing the net. The problem with photographs is that they can’t capture the sound of whistling pines, or the smell of misty mountain air, and never the touch of the moment. But then who can?

